Teaching and Learning Resources from Diane Hawkins

Classification of Animals


The "Skip navigation" link should bring you here to the start of the main content


Click here for this resource as a PowerPoint Presentation or a PDF Document
(Both will open in a new window)

Scientists have divided the Animal Kingdom into two main groups:

Vertebrates (animals with a backbone)


Invertebrates (animals without a backbone)


Animals with backbones can be divided into five more groups:

Mammals, Birds, Fish, Reptile, Amphibians


Animals without a backbone.

Invertebrate - butterfly   Invertebrate - starfish

Invertebrate - squid  or cuttlefish   Invertebrate - anenome

Invertebrate - jellyfish   Invertebrate - spider

Next page >>

printer icon

If you are a regular visitor to my site and find the free resources useful, please consider making a donation. All proceeds go towards hosting fees and keeping this not-for-profit website ad free.

Top of the page. Graphic used under license from Mindscape. Copyright. Copyright 2002 to 2011 Diane Hawkins All rights Reserved.

Subscription services are not allowed to link to this site.

Graphics from Printmaster Gold UK Publishing Suite version 7 "The images used herein were obtained from Mindscape's PrintMaster product, (c) 1998 Mindscape, Inc., 88 Rowland Way, Novato, CA 94945 USA. All rights reserved."

~ Site Design by Diane Hawkins ~